HomeArtCooper Hewitt Announces 2023 National Design Award Winners

Cooper Hewitt Announces 2023 National Design Award Winners

NEW YORK, Aug. 15, 2023 /PRNewswire/ — Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum today announced the winners of the 2023 National Design Awards, recognizing design innovation and impact in 10 categories. Now in their 24th year, the National Design Awards bring national recognition to the ways in which design enriches everyday life. Award recipients are selected by a multidisciplinary jury of practitioners, educators and leaders from a wide range of design fields. The winners will be honored at an Awards celebration Thursday, Oct. 5 at Cooper Hewitt.

This year’s National Design Award recipients are:

  • Seymour Chwast, Design Visionary
  • Biocement Tiles by Biomason, Climate Action
  • Beatriz Lozano, Emerging Designer
  • nARCHITECTS, Architecture
  • Arem Duplessis, Communication Design
  • Clement Mok, Digital Design
  • Naeem Khan, Fashion Design
  • The Archers, Interior Design
  • Kongjian Yu, Landscape Architecture
  • Atlason, Product Design

“This year’s National Design Award winners are a highly diverse group—from a handcraft-focused fashion designer to one of the early pioneers of digital design—but they share many common traits: a highly rigorous process to their discipline, a truly collaborative approach and putting people front and center in their practice,” said Dung Ngo, chair of the National Design Awards jury. “These are design core values worth celebrating.” 

“My gratitude goes to this year’s stellar jury for their thoughtful selection of the 2023 National Design Award winners,” said Maria Nicanor, director of the museum. “This year’s cohort, a diverse group of designers across disciplines, are not only charting new pathways in their respective fields, but also integrating sustainable, socially responsible and people-centered practices in their work in a moment of profound global complexity.” 

Established in 2000 as a project of the White House Millennium Council, the National Design Awards are accompanied annually by National Design Week. Cooper Hewitt will offer free admission to museum visitors during National Design Week, Oct. 2–8, to make design accessible to all. 

For more information, visit www.cooperhewitt.org/Awards.                        

The National Design Awards are made possible with major support from IBM Corporation.

Generous support is provided by Alexandra and Paul Herzan, and by Lisa Roberts and David Seltzer. Additional funding is provided by Jon C. Iwata.

National Design Award trophies are created by The Corning Museum of Glass.

About Cooper Hewitt

Cooper Hewitt is America’s design museum. Inclusive, innovative and experimental, the museum’s dynamic exhibitions, education programs, master’s program, publications and online resources inspire, educate and empower people through design.

SOURCE Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum

Originally published at https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/cooper-hewitt-announces-2023-national-design-award-winners-301901462.html
Images courtesy of https://pixabay.com

author avatar
Trend Editor
Sales Growth

Latest Posts